Code for Sustainable Homes Assessment Code for sustainable homes assessments

Code for Sustainable Homes Assessments (CfSH)

The Code for Sustainable Homes has been developed to enable a change in building practice for new homes. It has been prepared by the Government in close working consultation with the Building Research Establishment (BRE) and Construction Industry Research and Information Association (CIRIA). The Code for Sustainable Homes (CSH) is an environmental assessment method for rating and certifying the performance of new homes.

The Code for Sustainable Homes consists of nine categories, of which PJC Consultancy covers the ‘Ecology and Land Use’ category. This includes:

  • Assessing the ecological value of the site
  • Identifying any areas of high ecological value
  • Calculating the change in ecological value of the site pre and post development
  • Provision of recommendations of ecological enhancements
  • Ensuring legal compliance

PJC Consultancy provides a professional service incorporating appropriate ecological mitigation and environmental enhancement measures, which can be included within the development design. As PJC Consultancy ecologists are full members of the Institute of Ecology and Environmental Management (MIEEM) they are considered to be ‘suitably qualified ecologists’, which is a requirement of Code for Sustainable Homes assessments.